Skip to content ↓

Safeguarding

At Thomas Aveling, we are fully committed to the safeguarding of our students. It is important that students feel safe and supported so that they can achieve their full potential.

All staff at Thomas Aveling, regardless of their role, recognise that safeguarding is the statutory duty of all staff. As such, we will:

  • Provide a safe environment for students
  • Identify students who may need additional help and/or may be suffering harm
  • Take appropriate action to protect and help children.

Safeguarding is the term used to prevent harm, keep children safe and promote their wellbeing. In school we have a dedicated team which deal specifically with child protection matters. The members are:

Ms R Chew

rchew@thomasaveling.co.uk

Assistant Headteacher and Designated Safeguard Lead (DSL)

Ms T Latchford

tlatchford@thomasaveling.co.uk

Children’s Team Manager and Deputy Designated Safeguard Lead (DDSL)

Mrs C Rodwell

crodwell@thomasaveling.co.uk

Home School Support Worker and Early Help Lead

Mrs L Singleton

lsingleton@thomasaveling.co.uk

Victory ADOL

Mrs N Malone

nmalone@thomasaveling.co.uk

Cavalier ADOL

Mr J Capon

jcapon@thomasaveling.co.uk

Resolute ADOL

Mrs K Johal

kjohal@thomasaveling.co.uk

Wellbeing Advisor and Bereavement Support

Mrs S Williams

swilliams@thomasaveling.co.uk

CLA coordinator and lead in Transition

Safeguarding and visitors to the school

Upon arrival at the school, visitors are required to sign in at Reception. They must then wear an ID badge (that must be visible at all times). 

Visitors are collected from Reception and must remain with a designated member of staff at all times and will wear a black visitor lanyard.

Those who have had the appropriate checks and work with students weekly will wear a pink visitor lanyard.

On departure, visitors must sign out and return their ID badge to Reception before leaving the premises.

Useful contacts

Medway (Children’s Services) Duty Team

If you think the child is at immediate risk of harm phone them straightaway:

  • Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm on 01634 334 466
  • Out of hours on 03000 419 191

In an emergency, call 999 and to report a crime (non-emergency)to Police, call 101.

Early Help  https://www.medway.gov.uk/info/200170/children_and_families/325/early_help_in_medway

 

Helpline for victims of sexual abuse in schools

Sexual abuse in any form is unacceptable.

A dedicated helpline is now open to support anyone who has been a victim of sexual abuse.

The helpline is run by the NSPCC and will provide victims of abuse with the appropriate support, advice and onward action, including on contacting professionals or the police if they wish. The helpline will also provide support to parents and professionals too.

Telephone 0800 136 663, or email help@nspcc.org.uk.

More information can be found at: Helpline for people who have experienced sexual abuse in education settings launched | NSPCC Learning

Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO)

Every local authority is required to have a LADO whose responsibility it is to provide advice and guidance to individuals who have concerns about the behaviour of an adult who works with children and young people. If you wish to raise a concern about a professional working with children, please call 01634 331065.

Useful links for concerns

Reporting abuse or neglect in out of school hours

Preventing abuse and neglect

Child Protection

Childline: Tel 0800 1111. Website: www.childline.org.uk 

https://www.tht.org.uk/hiv-and-sexual-health/sexual-health